Julia Martin & Konrad KorabiewskiJulia Martin_openstudio

with sound installation by Konrad Korabiewski ‘Kárahnjúkar – the three dams’

Skálar is a new established Center For Sound Art and Experimental Music to be located in the factory space of the former Nordursild fish factory, situated in a unique place by the seaside of Seydisfjördur, East Iceland. Seeking and supporting artistic depth and quality, the aim of Skálar is to provide a platform for experiments, collaborations, presentations, studies and inspiration to professional artists and students in good working facilities.  It wishes to work with related institutions, and to create a basis for international interchange and network.

Auxpan & Konrad Korabiewski

Skálar team At Lunga Festival this year, the art-collective (Auxpan, Konrad Korabiewski, Helgi Örn Pétursson) of Skálar will present three experimental electronic concerts in the acousmatic of the Blue Church. After the concerts, during the evening, the artists and initiators will present sound art and music representative for the profile of Skálar at the Skaftfell bistro.

Intense and successful tour in Europe with the Art Book Orchestra took me to five different countries in June. Starting by leading a workshop in Denmark with visual artist Mogens Otto Nielsen, and electronica artist Tone, ending with intimate concert in Berlin.

The Art Book Orchestra_bookshop

Back in my home base Seydisfjördur, Iceland, next I perform in the Bookshop-projectspace 6th of July as part of Skaftfell’s 2012 summer exhibition series Reaction Intermediate.  The program is based on events, happenings, performances, open studios, exhibitions and video screenings. Participants are from the East of Iceland or artists in residence at Skaftfell – Center for Visual Art East Iceland.

Reaction Intermediate

Reaction Intermediate offers eleven different projects by visual and sound artists. The projects will be on display at two venues, the Bookshop-projectspace and the West Wall gallery. The program is ongoing until 16th of September.

performance and lecture at Aarhus Art Academy

The concert Art Book Orchestra consists of re-compositions of 10 original sound art pieces incorporated in 10 different art books, entitled ‘Affected as only a human being can Be’. The live-concert presents artist Konrad Korabiewski performing and interacting with the art books, as unconventional musical instruments live electronics). In addition, two integrated audio-visual works ‘Insulin Sut’ (2011) and ‘Tolerated Residence’ (2009) will be displayed as video installations.

Affected as only a human being can Be

‘Affected as only a human being can be’ | book art object | multimedia installation with integrated soundscape. Hand assembled work with handprinted woodcut cover (50 different copies). 10 Chapters with over 38 illustrated spreads and 45 min. of music. The pioneering and awarded sound/art book ‘Affected as only a human being can Be’ (Geiger Records, 2010) by multimedia artist Konrad Korabiewski and mixed media artist Litten is a cross over project, a meeting point where sound art, experimental music, visual art and book-art melt together in a radical way in a highly tactile, multimedial and interactive digital art form.

Winning the Europe – A Sound Panorama international sound-art competition was for me one of the highlights of 2011.

‘Europe – a sound panorama’ is the title of a project by the Goethe Institute of Belgrade, Deutschlandradio Kultur, Radio Belgrade, the European Broadcasting Union’s (EBU), Ars Acustica Group, the Institute for Music and Sound at the Centre for Art and Media Technology in Karlsruhe (ZKM) and the director and media artist Götz Naleppa. Its aim, to compose a soundscape of Europe through the contributions of European sound artists drawing from various disciplines such as electro acoustic composition, field recordings and radio art.

Klangdom (Sound dome) in the ZKM-Kubus (ZKM-Cube). Hightech instrument for spatialization at the ZKM | Institute for Music und Acoustics

Out of the total of 186 contributions submitted from 25 European countries, an international jury selected the ten best entries and invited the winners to a workshop in Karlsruhe in October 2011. Here we developed a European sound panorama from our combined works under the guidance of German prize-winning sound and media artist Thomas Köner.

workshop at the ZKM-Kubus | Institute for Music und Acoustics

This brand new piece, alongside the 10 winning works, was presented in a live concert at Audio Culture Festival/ZKM on 22 October and broadcast by Deutschland Radio Kultur and participating European radio stations.

from left sound artist Pablo Sanz | multimedia artist Konrad Korabiewski | multimedia artist Thomas Köner | director and media artist Götz Naleppa

My cinematic sound scape  ‘Skeyti’  – is a highly atmospheric composition, reflecting distinct Icelandic circumstances, and includes recordings from an old morse massage from 1976.

A podcast presentation of the winning pieces is available online by Goethe-Institut.
The radio broadcast by Deutschlandradio Kultur is also available online.
 An interview (Danish) about the prizewinning composition ´Skeyti´ was made by Danish National Radio P2.